Historical Timeline of the College


Community leaders in Emanuel County and Swainsboro urged the state to establish a two-year college in the area. Committees were formed and lobbying efforts at the state level were undertaken, but without immediate results.


In December of this year, the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia authorized a study to determine the need for additional two-year colleges in the state.


Six possible sites, including the Swainsboro–Emanuel County area, were approved with the stipulation that the county of each prospective site provide the land or property for a campus site, as well as the funds for constructing and furnishing the initial physical plant.


In September, the citizens of Emanuel County voted for a bond issue of $2.1 million to underwrite the cost of a new college. The Emanuel County Board of Education, representing the citizens of the county and working with the local college committee, also provided a wooded site of 207 acres (190 acres of which were donated by Luck Flanders Gambrell) within the city limits of Swainsboro. In December 1971, the Board of Regents gave final approval for the campus site and named the new college Emanuel County Junior College. 


Construction of the campus at 131 College Circle in Swainsboro began in December, but proceeded slowly.


Fall quarter saw the charter class of 167 students attending classes in temporary quarters at the Swainsboro National Guard Armory, while the campus was completed. Administrative offices were housed in the Coleman Hotel Building and faculty offices above Davis Drug Store.

Dr. George W. Walker named the first President of Emanuel County Junior College.


The Swainsboro campus was completed and students began to attend for the 1974-75 academic year.


Emanuel County Junior College is officially accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS).

Dr. Willie D. Gunn, Dean of the College since 1972, is named the second President of ECJC.


617 students enrolled fall of 1988. The college officially changes our name to East Georgia College (EGC).


The College bond is burned on campus. President Willie D. Gunn retires from East Georgia College.


Dr. Jeremiah J. Ashcroft II, Dean of the College since 1977, is named the third President of East Georgia College.          


EGC Enrollment reaches 917. The campus computer network is installed.


East Georgia College expanded to include a location in Statesboro at the Harvey House on the Georgia Southern University campus.


The 25th Anniversary of EGC is celebrated. Groundbreaking was held for the new Luck Flanders Gambrell Center, named for Mrs. Luck F. Gambrell. EGC and the University of Georgia’s Selig Center for Economic Growth at the Terry College of Business co-host the first Rural Georgia Economic Outlook Luncheon.


The Luck Flanders Gambrell Building was completed this year. The expansive brick structure houses the college's library, a large auditorium, classrooms, computer laboratories and support facilities, and administrative offices.

The Vision Series at EGC begins, bringing in speakers, musicians, theatre, and more for the campus and community.


Foster J. Watkins, retired president of Gainesville College, is appointed Interim President of EGC.


President Jimmy Carter speaks to East Georgia College as part of the Vision Series.

The Physical Education Complex constructs its new wing. This includes the Gymnasium, Fitness Center, and classrooms.

East Georgia College celebrates our 30th Anniversary.


Dr. John Black becomes the fourth president of East Georgia College. UGA’s Seilig Center reports EGC’s regional economic impact at $27.8 million.


Always a part of campus life at East Georgia, the official Piney Woods Disc Golf Course opened on the Swainsboro campus, providing a fun and challenging course to all that visit.


The Student Center on the Swainsboro campus completes its addition and renovation to add administrative offices and student dining.


Bob the Bobcat becomes the official mascot of the college.

EGC students voted to add an athletics program to include men's and women's basketball, men's baseball and women's fast-pitch softball.

East Georgia hosted the first State Intercollegiate Disc Golf Tournament ever held in Georgia at the Piney Woods Disc Golf Course.

The Miss East Georgia State College Scholarship Pageant officially joins the Miss Georgia Scholarship Pageant system.


East Georgia College joins the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) on August 1.

The main entrance of the College relocates to Lambs Bridge Road and Madison Dixon Drive is dedicated.


Bobcat Athletics hosts its first year of competitive play in the Georgia Junior College Athletic Association (GJCAA).

Donated by A.D. "Pete" and Ada Lee Correll, the Sudie A. Fulford Community Learning Center, named for Ada Lee's mother, a local schoolteacher, opens on May 1.

Construction begins on Bobcat Villas residence hall.

Fall student enrollment hits 3,063.


East Georgia State College - Statesboro opened its newly-constructed building on Highway 301 South to host classes and administrative offices.

East Georgia College opened its first residential housing option, Bobcat Villas. The residential housing offers dorm rooms to students on the Swainsboro campus. The L.C. "Shot" and Jean Strange Learning and Recreation Center (called the Clubhouse), was dedicated on December 7, 2011.

The EGC Office of Public Safety is established.

President John B. Black retires on December 31.       


East Georgia State College holds its first Homecoming Celebration on February 4.

The Student Center is officially dedicated to longtime supporter of the College, Jean Anderson Morgan. The Jean A. Morgan Student Activities Center is quickly dubbed the "JAM" by students.

The college officially changes its name to East Georgia State College in May.

The Learning Commons officially opens, encompassing the Library, Heritage Center, Academic Center for Excellence, and Common Grounds Coffee Shop.

In Fall 2012, the first cohort of students begin the new Bachelor of Science in Biology program, EGSC’s first four-year degree offering.

Dr. Robert G. Boehmer is named the fifth President of EGSC on November 13.


East Georgia State College opened their Augusta location embedded in Augusta University's Summerville Campus. Originally in Payne Hall, we are now located in Galloway Hall and provide students opportunities to use many of AU's services, including the library, recreation center, and dining services.

The Men's Basketball Team won the Division 1 State GCAA tournament and ranked 8th nationally following the NJCAA Tournament in Hutchinson, Kansas.

The Piney Woods Disc Golf Course on the Swainsboro campus hosted the National Collegiate Disc Golf Championship Qualifier.

EGSC’s regional economic impact is $70 million according to UGA’s Selig Center for Economic Growth.

EGSC celebrates 40th Anniversary.

Investiture of Dr. Robert G. Boehmer is held September 27.


On August 17, a ribbon cutting was held for the Academic Building Expansion Project, which added over 13,000 square feet of new classroom space and renovated the existing space. This included five new classrooms, a large tiered classroom, two new biology labs, a biology project lab, and a biology preparation room.


Dr. Robert Boehmer retires in December.

Dr. Dawn Cartee named Interim President.


Dr. David Schecter named sixth president of EGSC.

In January, EGSC-Statesboro moved to the Nessmith-Lane Building on the campus of Georgia Southern University to better serve our students.

Vision Series events return to EGSC with Chancellor Sonny Perdue speaking in September and author Kathy Bradley speaking in November. 


EGSC celebrates 50th Anniversary with a full slate of events.

Investiture of Dr. David Schecter held on October 13.